Word Winding

attempting to spin cacophony into sanity

Question #2: Music Education for All?

(This post is part of a series for July 2013 entitled “Question Month.” Read the intro to the series here.)

My Facebook post earlier today:

“Working within my available time and resources, how can I help make music education (especially my areas of expertise: violin, viola, cello, music theory, and composition) not such a privileged white thing?”

This one turned out much more straightforward than I had anticipated. I already have discounts available for students enrolled in aid programs and accept barter payment from some of my kid music class families, so the real issue is finding people, not making it affordable.

As one commentator suggested on the Facebook thread, going out and demonstrating, complete with instrument petting zoo, at all of the local elementary schools would be a great beginning.

I may even be able to link this idea into the Unitarian interest in community outreach. I know at least one local church has an orchestra; perhaps the UU would be inclined toward one of their own, especially if it were actively recruiting students of all backgrounds?

Wheels are spinning now!

20130702-190751.jpg

Platypup’s first cello lesson earlier this month (on my viola).

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Question #2: Music Education for All?

  1. Pingback: Question Interlude (week 1 rehashed) | Word Winding

Leave a Reply

