Word Winding

attempting to spin cacophony into sanity

Unphotographed Moments – Day Six

(This post is part of a series for August 2013 entitled “Unphotographed Moments.” Read the intro to the series here.)

Today’s Unphotographed Moments:

I started a new book last night, one I am already positive all parents and educators will want to read: It’s OK NOT To Share… and Other Renegade Rules for Raising Competent and Compassionate Kids by Heather Shumaker. This morning I was enthusiastically awakened at the delicious hour of 10am by Owlet, who began to roughhouse a bit too much for my blurry head. I applied the simple techniques outlined in the first few chapters and I kid you not, bam, worked like a charm. Try the free sample ebook on Kindle and buy it if, like me, you immediately know you cannot live without this gem of a magical child-rearing handbook.

We went to the library today only to be reminded that story time is on hiatus for the month of August. No biggie, we went and spent our hour in the children’s section. While Owlet and I chose books and did lots of reading, Platypup climbed the bookshelves, tapped delightedly on the window, fell in love with a very nice dad who politely accepted all of the books Platypup brought to him despite having his hands full with his adorable little baby, tried repeatedly to climb onto the little kid-height table until I moved his chair back, exchanged dubious toddler looks with a little girl exactly his height but half his foot width, and discovered the spinning book racks, at which point I decided it was probably time to leave.

Platypup rolling with chuckles galore on the floor while I tickled his delectable chubby thighs.

Platypup pooping on the floor to his (rather amusing) horror while I was grabbing chicken thighs from the freezer in the garage. He was really almost mortified, and very anxious till it was taken care of, whereas I was almost happy, since floors and baby bottoms clean easier than diapers.

Platypup helping me cook by assisting in screwing and unscrewing spice jar lids, pushing the cabinets and fridge door closed, and reaching for the stove while saying “hah hah hah” (hot hot hot).

Owlet regaling me with tales of her afternoon out with Granny, including vivid descriptions of cookies and petting zoo animals.

Owlet recovering from her brief fear of knives after nicking her finger for the second time, successfully cutting water chestnuts and peppers for our dinner. She boasted about how careful she had been later to Granny.

———-

Today’s one-shot photo:

20130806-204201.jpg

How I feel, having successfully put both kids to sleep before 8:30pm.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

