Word Winding

attempting to spin cacophony into sanity

The mirror doesn’t work and this is why

The mirror doesn’t work and this is why:
Unless you catch an accidental glance as you pass by,
The image that you see is uninhabited.

I came up with the above in the car on my way to yoga a couple months ago. (I left it on Rapunzel’s voicemail so I wouldn’t forget it, which of course ensured that I remembered it just fine.)

I’m not going to unpack the whole cultural load of crap that is our conventional standard of beauty. You all know it already, and are probably sick of discussing it. I had thought to write a much longer poem, but I’ve grown kind of attached to its blunt simplicity. Plus there are urchins hanging off my arms and I have to teach in 14 minutes.

IMG_4550-0.JPG

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

